They’ve arrived! My Sulky Blendables are here…

May 3, 2010 § 7 Comments

Since I couldn’t find the Perle 8 cotton thread I was looking for I ordered some of the Sulky Blendables I had seen on Silly Boo Dilly’s site from Catherine’s Place. They arrived today and I’m really happy with the colours.

Sulky Blendables

Sulky Blendables

On Saturday I sandwiched the Autumn quadrant of my Kaffe For all Seasons quilt and today I machine quilted it so now I’m free to sandwich the small quilt that I bought these lovely threads for. I’m really looking forward to using them.

A new Perle 8 on the block

I don’t know if you’ve used any Presencia cottons but I have and I really, really like them. In fact I think they’re my favourite thread even above Aurifil and Tre Stelle which are also lovely threads. Anyway today I heard from Catherine of the aforementioned Catherine’s Place that Presencia also make a Perle 8. I went to the Australian Presencia website to see and they look beautiful! 119 solid dyed colours and 33 variegated colours! I can’t wait to see them in the flesh. Apparently they come in sample packs so that might be the way to go.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to They’ve arrived! My Sulky Blendables are here…

  • Sylvia says:

    You will LOVE Sulky Blendables. Hope you know they come in two weights. The 30 weight is of course heavier and really looks nice when you want that effect. Enjoy!!! sylvia

  • Munaiba says:

    Hi Sylvia, I thought that the higher the number the finer the thread e.g. 50wt is finer than 40wt. So isn’t the 12 wt heavier than than the 30wt or is it reversed here for some reason?
    Munaiba

  • Janet says:

    I heard from my embroidery teacher that DMC had gone bust. Bring on the Valdanis I say, they’re colourfast too. I would love some of the blendables in the 12 weight. It’s on the list, I’ve been inspired by Boodilly too. 12 weight is much heavier than 30.

  • sewjournal says:

    Haven’t heard of Valdanis but the Presencia Perle looks lovely. Hope to post some photos either today or tomorrow when WordPress starts working again

  • Catherine says:

    The Blendables come in 12 & 30 weight thread.
    12wt is thicker than 30wt.

    And – another bonus, Presencia make colour charts for all their threads and they are real thread – not a piece of coloured paper. A big bonus in my book when you are looking for “just the right colour”.

    Catherine

  • […] Should they be small or large and decorative? Which thread should I use – one of the Sulky Blendables I bought or a Perle 8 I had? It took ages before an answer came to me and then it seemed obvious. I […]

  • […] spoken about Catherine’s Place before on this blog. I’ve had several orders from her and she is so helpful, friendly and generous that I decided […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading They’ve arrived! My Sulky Blendables are here… at Sewjournal.

meta

