Kaffe for All Seasons

April 25, 2010 § 2 Comments

Summer

Summer

A while ago I began to do the Sampler quilt from  the Kaffe Fassett Museum Quilts book. A group of us from all over the world started a Yahoo email group to encourage one another. The idea was to do one block per week.

As the quilt can be viewed as four identical quadrants I decided to do each quadrant in a colour way that represented one of the seasons and I called my quilt Kaffe For All Seasons.

Anyway the group foundered for a variety of reasons and I became bored with it. It wasn’t my favourite of his quilts and I had really agreed just to be a part of a group effort. I thought it would be fun. When I went back and looked at the size of this quilt in the book it was enormous! I was totally over it.

Rainy day

Rainy day

I decided to bail but I didn’t want to waste all the hand-pieced blocks I had done so I decide to mix them with blocks of whole Kaffe fabrics and design my own quilt. I have pieced the whole top now and quilted the summer quadrant. I’m going to join the seasons together at the end. This one is summer.

I know I shouldn’t have machine quilted my hand-pieced blocks but, as I said, I’m over it.

Anyway these colours cheer me up and remind me of summer – contrast to the rainy day outside.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Kaffe for All Seasons

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kaffe for All Seasons at Sewjournal.

meta

