Frustration and Farrah

July 7, 2012 § 7 Comments

I tried so hard to bring you a post with lovely photos of Farrah the Travelling FQ stash. She has now visited three members of the list. The problems arose with this blog template. It really doesn’t play nicely with photos. It takes no notice of any instructions you give it with regards to alignment, size etc. In the end I got so frustrated that I gave up. Hopefully when the stash arrives here I’ll have better luck!

Losing my blogging mojo

I’ve sort of lost my blogging mojo recently. This template is difficult to use and I feel that a blog post without a photo is like coffee without sugar, but then maybe you like coffee without sugar. I’ve bought lots of interesting books recently but I just haven’y got around to photographing them. I also wrote a book review on Elizabeth Hartman’s new book but the publishers wouldn’t let me use photos of the pages that I had refereed to in the review so I’m not going to bother publishing it and I’m certainly not interested in writing a second review. It’s a bit rich I think as I actually ask permission. I know lots of other people don’t, they just photograph the pages they want to show which falls under the “acceptable use” guidelines for a review. However, it’s their loss.

Hand quilting

I have been hand quilting my In A Spin quilt but progress photos of that aren’t that interesting, so I don’t really have anything to show you but I didn’t want you to think I’d forgotten you all as you’ve supported me so wonderfully throughout the evolution of this blog.

Till next time… keep sewing. :)

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Frustration and Farrah

  • Annette, VA says:

    Well, I loooovvvvveee coffee with sugar :-) I do hate to see (hear/read) you a bit out of it with your blogging…should a break revive your spirits? Perhaps it has been the week spend not feeling so well…I agree that it’s a sad loss for the publisher to be so uppity and deny your request. I’m sending good mojo and hugs your way in the meantime!

  • Joan says:

    Oh, the joys of technology! You sound a bit like I feel at the moment, Munaiba. I recently wrote to a fabric producer to ask if I could use their fabric to make a raffle quilt for an animal rescue organisation, but haven’t heard back, so will probably just go ahead and make it anyway, since they’re so rude. I don’t blame you feeling put out with the publisher. One tries to do the right thing and is not thanked for it, then they wonder why people do the wrong thing. Oh well, to-morrow is another day. I like coffee with sugar too, but will drink it without if there is none. lol Take care, and we enjoy your blog however it comes.

  • Linda says:

    Well, you know it’s you we like to hear from, pictures or not. And I guess it holds true that no good deed goes unpunished when it comes to your review. You try to do the right thing and you get your hand slapped!

    I hope you are feeling better. Snuggle up with a blanket and read your new books.

    xo Linda

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Linda is right – we like to hear from you! with or without pictures.
    Coffee with cream and agave… I’m waiting for mine to finish brewing right now.

  • Fran says:

    I’ve never used sugar in my coffee…… Do what makes you happy.

  • Sylvia Smith says:

    I love my black coffee, no sugar too. And I love hearing from you. so, please don’t stop blogging, just take a break dear friend, and know we’ll be waiting for you. And a big Pooh on the mean spirited publishers. Me thinks they’re taking advantage of a system and infringing on MY rights! :-/

  • Doris says:

    Maybe you just need a little vacation! You’ve been ill & probably aren’t yet up to par.

    BTW I think including a photo in a review comes under the fair use of copyright law. I wonder if the publisher ever considered how many sales are made due to bloggers’ reviews.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Frustration and Farrah at Sewjournal.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

